Halal Food

Halal Food Guide for Muslims living in Korea

Since pork is the biggest source of meat in Korea, and Koreans eat pork almost daily, so the chances become relatively high for the animal byproducts to be from pork (animal byproducts in general and fats in particular are included in biscuits, chocolates, snacks and breads etc.). 

Fat is usually called “Shortening”, either from animals or plants. But, it is not all about “Shortening”, there are other words for animal fat also. For example, the other word for shortening is 동물성유지, means “Animal Fat” (Most probably pork fat if major source in Korea)

There is one exception for the fat (shortening) to be permissible, that is, if it is from vegetable/beans source. That exception is mentioned in the table below.

The products such as biscuits and chocolates etc. which are mentioned as Halal in this document are not guaranteed to be Halal, but in fact we consider them Halal according to our limited findings

Please Keep in Mind that if you consider a foreign brand product to be “Halal” but if it contains the ingredients written in Korean language as well, and then it is not necessary for that product to be Halal. This is because; the ingredients policy of a company depends upon the type of local rules or population of a country. In less “halal aware” countries like Korea, the foreign companies will use those ingredients which they find easily available, so they won’t bother about Halal or Haram in that non-Muslim country.

 

 

Product

Description

Objectionable content

Advice

Comments

Ramen/ Ramyun

Such as Gin

Ramen (신라면),

Nongshim Ramen

And other instant

noodles.

Instant noodles, Usually the Gin Ramen is thought to be halal, which are usually yellow packing, But it’s not halal. Gin Ramen is written on it in English also.

Meat or Bones powder in the flavoring sachet. Or the noodles may be fried in pork oil (shortening).

Must be avoided

All the flavors of Gin Ramen should be avoided (even the egg flavor etc.)

Other instant noodles should also be avoided. Even some noodles may be fried in pork  oil.

It’s better to avoid food which contains flavorings resembling to meat.                                                    

 

Cheese/ Cheese

products

 Contain Rennet obtain from animal stomachs and vegetables. 

Rennet is used as an enzyme to make cheese from milk .

According to agha sistani no problem in cheese. 

http://www.sistani.org/english/qa/01159/

According to agha sistani no problem in cheese. 

http://www.sistani.org/english/qa/01159/

Kellogg’s

Corn Flakes and other related flakes etc.

Contain  shortening.

Should be checked for contents.

 Check for contents.

Denmark Yoghurt

This Yoghurt comes in plane and several fruit flavors also.

Contains An odorless, tasteless, protein substance like glue or jelly, obtained by boiling the bones, hoofs, and other waste parts of animals.

Must be avoided

In fact it contains the Pectin and Gelatin both. Pectin is obtained from fruits, so its Halal.

Breads/bicuits

Many Muslims are not aware of the fact that some snacks or breads contain Haram ingredients, e.g. 쇼트닝(Shortening) and 동물성유지(animal/pork fat).

May contain shortening (pig fat oil) or

동물성유지(animal/pork fat).

If contains 쇼트닝(대두) which means bean shortening then its Halal.

CAUTION

If contains only the word 쇼트닝or 동물성유지then avoid it. If contains 쇼트닝(대두) then its Halal.

Shortening is from pork oil. So avoid it when you see the Korean word '쇼트닝' with out (대두).

Gelatin and Jelly

If a chemical change occurs in the original ingredients during the process of manufacturing the gelatin, there is no problem at all in eating it. Similarly, even if one has doubt whether the animal was slaughtered Islamically or not, still there is no problem in adding the gelatin [made from that animal] to the food in such a minute amount that it is completely absorbed in it.

Gelatin itself.

According to Al-sayyid Ali Alhussani Al-Sistani it is permissible to eat gelatin if one doubts whether it has been extracted from an animal or vegetable. But, if it is known that it was derived from an animal, then it is not permissible to eat without ascertaining that the animal was slaughtered according to sharí‘a. This prohibition applies, as a matter of obligatory precaution, even if it was extracted from animal bones.

You can see to  Al-sayyid Ali Alhussani Al-Sistani answer about it.

http://www.sistani.org/english/qa/01201/

Ghana Chocolate

One of the most popular chocolates in Korea

contains “Processed Fat”

Very Doubtful, better avoid it.

Allah knows what kind of processed fat they use. But we should remember that the cheapest and frequent way to use fat is the pork fat.

Chocolates

All chocolates available in Korea

Chocolates usually contain objectionable contents, such as lecithin,  etc.

Check for contents. 

if contain 대두 word with '쇼트닝' or lecithin source other then animal no problem.

Lecithin

(레시틴)

An emulsifying ingredient written in the contents of foods.

If in the contents of a product, only Lecithin is written then its objectionable. If Soya Lecithin is written then its Halal.

If Lecithin(레시틴) then Doubtful.

If Soya Lecithin then Halal.

An emulsifier is used as a rising agent to give rise to the product. There are two sources of Lecithin. Animals and Plants. If the Soya Lecithin (대두레시틴or 쏘야레시틴) is written then its Halal. If only “Lecithin” is written then it’s doubtful.

Whey/

Whey powder

The watery part of milk that separates from the curd when milk sours and becomes coagulated, or when cheese is made.

Like in making cheese, the rennet is used as an enzyme to make whey.

As i think obtained in chemical process like cheese can reffer to cheese 

According to agha sistani no problem in cheese. so you can refer to below site. 

http://www.sistani.org/english/qa/01159/

Vanilla

Flavor/extract

(바닐라)

A flavoring extract made from the vanilla bean and used in candy, ice cream, and perfumes.

The flavor extracted from vanilla beans is most commonly dissolved in alcohol. Documentation from a distributor of vanilla extract showed that the ingredient contained 50% alcohol

If liquid vanilla extract used then better avoid it.

If solid vanilla flavor is used, then it could be used.

To know in detail about alcohol refer to 

http://www.sistani.org/english/qa/01123/

Flavored Milk

Milk comes in Banana and strawberry flavor

Most of Strawberry flavored milk contains a red color obtained from an insect called cochineal.

Strawberry flavor not recommended, because of color coloring.

Cochineal is a beetle, which is ground and used as powder as a natural red color source.

Use of red colored milk depends upon a person’s choice, but it was felt necessary to be aware about insect source.

Chewing Gums

Hundreds of kinds available

May contain Haram ingredients, especially the gum may contain some animal fat. Two main ingredients which might be present are: Stearic Acid (softner for gum, source: animals or vegetables) and glycerol monostearate (source: animals or vegetables)

Check for contents. 

Gums should be avoided as they may contain some processed fat or other Haram ingredients.

Animal Fat other

than Shortening

(동물성유지

Means Animal

Oil/Fat)

Pronounced as “Thonngmulsong Yoojee”. Animal fat. (possibly pork fat)

Pork fat.

Must be Avoided

If this Korean word is written in the ingredients of a product then it means the product contains animal/pork fat.

All animal fats are haram in a non-Muslim country like Korea. As mentioned above, pork fat is the cheapest and most abundant.

 

 

 

       

 

       

 

          

 

 

     

 

               

 

                  

 

The Halal/Haram specification in the table above has been compiled by taking the guidance from the different Islamic resources. Especially the following Muslims’ website has been very helpful for any this purpose:

http://www.sistani.org/english/qa/01210/

http://www.al-islam.org/a-code-of-practice-for-muslims-in-the-west-ayatullah-sistani/appendices

http://english.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/FO/FO_EN_6_6_2.jsp

http://www.eat-halal.com/ingredients.shtml